VNG AG Supervisory Board reconstituted


Shareholders of VNG AG elected a new Supervisory Board at today’s Annual General Meeting in keeping with the required cycle. 

Going forward, Dirk Güsewell (Member of the Board at EnBW AG with responsibility for system critical infrastructure) will take over as Chair of the Supervisory Board, succeeding Thomas Kusterer (Member of the Board at EnBW AG with responsibility for finance). This change is due to a reorganisation of the areas of responsibility within the EnBW Board. Dr. Frank Brinkmann (Chairman of the Board, SachsenEnergie AG) was elected 1st Vice Chair and Christina Ledong (Chair of the joint works council, VNG AG) was elected 2nd Vice Chair.

“Close cooperation based on trust at all levels is particularly important in turbulent times like these, and such backing was always forthcoming throughout the previous term of the Supervisory Board. I have no doubt that the newly elected members will continue to support us in all of our transformation efforts as we become a green, digital and gas-based group of companies,” says Ulf Heitmüller, Chairman of the Board at VNG AG.

The Supervisory Board of VNG AG has 21 members: 14 members representing shareholders and seven members representing employees. The composition of the new Supervisory Board is as follows:

Members representing shareholders:

  • Markus Baumgärtner, Head of Value chain natural gas, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG, Karlsruhe
  • Dr. Frank Brinkmann, Chairman of the Board at SachsenEnergie AG, Dresden
  • Sascha Enderle, Head of Digital finance and transformation, EnBW Baden-Württemberg AG, Karlsruhe
  • Barbara Endriss, Managing Director, OEW Energie-Beteiligungs GmbH, Königseggwald
  • Dr. Martin Fleckenstein, Independent consultant, Aschaffenburg
  • Hans-Peter Floren, Entrepreneur, Essen
  • Dirk Güsewell, Member of the Board with responsibility for system critical infrastructure at EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG, Tamm
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Antonio Hurtado, Head of the Institute for Energy Technology at Technische Universität Dresden, Dresden
  • Hartmut Kremling, Consulting engineer, Radebeul
  • Karsten Rogall, Managing Director, Leipziger Stadtwerke GmbH, Markranstädt
  • Gunda Röstel, Managing Director, Stadtentwässerung Dresden GmbH, Flöha
  • Fabian Spalthoff, Head of Trade, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG, Kämpfelbach
  • Liv Monica Stubholt, Partner, Selmer AS, Oslo
  • Dr. Bernd-Michael Zinow, Head of Law, audit, compliance and regulation unit, EnBW Baden-Württemberg AG, Karlsruhe

Members representing employees (already elected internally on 14 June 2022):

  • Tobias Dittrich (VNG Handel & Vertrieb GmbH)
  • Christina Fenin (VNG Gasspeicher GmbH)
  • Monty Heßler (GDMcom GmbH)
  • Christina Ledong (VNG AG)
  • Peter Leisebein (VNG AG)
  • Katja Schmied (ONTRAS Gastransport GmbH)
  • Dr. Benno Seebach (ONTRAS Gastransport GmbH)
Christian Roos, Presse und Social Media bei der VNG AG

Your contact person


Press & Social Media


VNG is a group of over 20 companies active in the European energy industry, employing about 1,600 people. As a gas importer and wholesaler as well as an operator of critical gas infrastructure, the Group, which is headquartered in Leipzig, is central to the secure supply of gas in Germany. With the “VNG 2030+” strategy, VNG is also pursuing an ambitious path for a market ramp-up of renewable and decarbonised gases such as biogas and hydrogen, paving the way for a sustainable, secure supply and, in the long term, climate-neutral energy system of the future.

press pictures

Neuer Aufsichtsrat der VNG AG

Newly formed Supervisory Board of VNG AG. Photo © Anika Dollmeyer 

Dirk Güsewell ist neuer Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der VNG AG

New Chairman of the Supervisory Board of VNG AG: Dirk Güsewell (Member of the Board of Management, System Critical Infrastructure, EnBW AG) Photo © EnBW AG